Sometimes I find inspiration in the oddest places.

Today inspiration came in the form of bread.

I am now living in a town that has a Great Harvest bakery and I must use restraint, needless to say I have a frequent flyer card with them. I LOVE their variety called Cinna Burst, especially made into french toast…..mmmmm…. 

We also stocked up on some groceries the other day and bought a tub of blueberries. After handfuls and handfuls, maybe even a bowlful in there too, I was blueberried out and needed to do something with the rest.

I decided to make a compound butter with the berries, and heck might as well add some lavender… cause that’s what I do.

I don’t keep track of amounts so this is approximate. I put about 2 cups berries in a saucepan, 1/4 water, 2 tablespoons honey and simmered it until reduced by half. I also put about 2 teaspoons of culinary lavender, Royal Velvet variety into a teaball straining spoon and used that to stir the blueberry mixture, leaving it in the pan to steep the whole time.  After the blueberry mixture was cool I blended it up with 1 stick of butter and put it into a ziplock bag pushing it down in the bottom to form a log, and back in the refrigerator it went until firm.

After thoughts…. I loved the lavender and blueberry combination and will def do that again in other venues. I should have used more honey, as the blueberries were not sweet enough. I also should have used unsalted butter to realize more of the flavor from the berries and lavender with out the salted distraction, however that was all I had in the house. I also had to refrigerate the blueberry mixture for a bit while I ran to a meeting. Upon returning I just dumped the cold berry mixture in with the room temp softened butter and it made it so the butter didn’t whip properly, a little too cold, I should have left it at room temp too.

All in all, YUM! Compound butters a scrumptious sweet or savory. 

Here’s the pics… just because… 🙂

4 Comments

  1. Lilli said,

    February 17, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    Sounds wonderful! I happen to have some huckleberries in the freezer, will give this a try (with your modifications). And glad you added pictures, can’t have too many pictures! Some of us are text-challenged, and pictures make all the difference. Thanks!

    • lavbundle said,

      February 24, 2011 at 11:13 pm

      Oooo….. Linda, huckleberry and lavender sound great together!

  2. caprilis said,

    February 26, 2011 at 11:28 am

    Popping over from Chickens in the Road… with a tip… at Great Harvest, try the Dakota bread! It is to die for!
    I’m looking forward to coming back and reading more posts, I do love lavender!

    • lavbundle said,

      February 26, 2011 at 2:56 pm

      I will have to try the Dakota bread. While waiting in line the other day I tried their White Chocolate Cherry….OMG! Now have a loaf of that too!


Leave a Reply

