Lavender Infused Honey

Lil' busy bees

In my mind lavender and honey are the perfect combination. When in bloom, our lavender plants just crawl with honey bees. I remember a few years ago while harvesting lavender at the Purple Haze Lavender Farm in Sequim, WA I was feeling a little intimidated by the thought of sticking my arms into bushes that seemed to be moving and humming with so MANY bees. The lovely little gal that was working close by called out to me, “They’re just honey bees, they’re friendly.” This made me smile and feel comforted and I went about my cutting and gathering while those friendly little bees went about their business. I did feel a little guilty by cutting their lavender and taking some away from them, but they didn’t seem to notice, they were to busy as bees! Ha!

Lavender infused honey is a frequently requested item in my shop. I’ve made this product many times over, but this year for some reason, I just couldn’t get to it. I was looking into trying to source local honey and had a few leads but it just didn’t pan out. However, I did find a supplier for next year and will hopefully have these little jewels sparkling on my shelves. Until then however, here is a recipe to make your own.

Lavender Infused Honey

Use a mild flavored honey and about 1-2 teas fresh or dried lavender for each 1/4 to 1/3 cup honey

In a saucepan warm the honey to just a simmer. Crush the lavender a bit to release the oils into the buds and add to the warmed honey. Remove from heat and infuse for approx a half an hour or until desired flavor. Then slightly re-warm the honey and strain out the lavender buds. Store in an air tight jar.

Serving suggestions. Great on toast, croissants, scones, and quick fruit and nut breads. Delicious drizzled on ice-cream, or over fresh fruit and berries. Sweeten and flavor your teas and other beverages, both hot and cold. Sweeten and flavor your baking replacing the sugar with the honey. I’ve also found a lot of recipes pairing lavender infused honey with goat cheese, the slight sour bite of goat cheese in contrast to the sweet lavender honey is remarkable.

We sell the culinary lavender in the shop, Lavendula Angustifolia, or commonly known as Royal Velvet, a sweet citrusy flavored lavender perfect for blending with the honey.

3 Comments

  1. Cathy Hancock said,

    January 25, 2010 at 1:03 am

    Nice idea, I love honey and the thought of infusing it with lavender sounds delicious. You have inspired me to plant more lavender in my yard so I have it more readily for use. Thanx!

  2. lavbundle said,

    January 25, 2010 at 2:31 am

    Yes! I want you to plant more lavender too! Then you can blend it with your Chamomile fot a soothing tea, make lavender wands, dry it and put it into a sachet, etc, etc, etc, Yes! More lavender!

  3. Cathy Hancock said,

    February 17, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    Have you looked into getting honey from Bill abd Melody Dahle from Fairview or Tracy and Dave Lawrence of Savage. Tracy was in my class. She is also a facebook friend. I see your reference to the roal vevet lavender at the end of your honey recipe. I’m looking forward to making the cookies!


Leave a Reply

